It’s Harry Potter’s 40th birthday on Saturday and after all these years, we cannot possibly think of a world without Harry in it. However, all these would not have been possible without the creator, Joanne Kathleen Rowling, or JK Rowling, who contributed to shaping our childhoods, and will celebrate her own birthday today along with Harry.

While Harry Potter remains Rowling’s most iconic creation, it is not the only one. Here are five other books by the author which you must read on her birthday:

The Casual Vacancy

This book was Rowling’s first one after the ‘Harry Potter’ series ended. ‘The Casual Vacancy’ also marks her first novel written for adult readers and talks about several issues like class, politics, rape, drugs, and prostitution.

The Casual Vacancy was Rowling’s first book for adults. (Screengrab:

The Cuckoo’s Calling

Rowling published this crime fiction under the pseudonym  Robert Galbraith in 2013. Being the first novel in the Cormoran Strike series of detective novels, ‘The Cuckoo’s Calling’ received 2013 Los Angeles Times Book Prize (Mystery/thriller) award.

Rowling published this book under a pseudonym. (Screengrab:

The Silkworm

‘The Silkworm’ is the second novel in the Cormoran Strike series, published a year after ‘The Cuckoo’s Calling’ was released. Rowling took the same pseudonym for this book too, where detective Corman Strike is on a mission to find a novelist.

The Silkworm is the sequel to The Cuckoo’s Calling. (Screengrab:

Career of Evil

Detective Corman Strike comes back with the third novel of this crime fiction series with ‘Career of Evil’. Here, Strike and his assistant Robin Ellacott solve a case together.

Career of Evil embarks further the journey of Detective Corman Strike. (Screengrab:

Very Good Lives

This book has been adapted from Rowling’s 2008 speech at Harvard University. The book, derived from her deeply moving talk, advises the reader on how to embrace failure and make most of it.

This book is based on one of Rowling’s emotional speeches at the Harvard University. (Screengrab:

Apart from these, JK Rowling’s fairy tale novel ‘The Ickabog’ is set to release in November this year. The book, published online in installments before its official publication, is Rowling’s first book for children since the ‘Harry Potter’ series.