The Primetime Emmy Awards were back in full swing this year. At an indoor event at the Microsoft Theatre in Los Angeles, the ceremony was packed with the whos’ who of Hollywood to celebrate a return to normality and some of the finest film and television from the past year. 

This time around, the focus was on the winners as first time Emmy host and long-time Saturday Night Live cast member Keenan Thompson kicked off the ceremony with dances to a variety of theme songs from shows like Friends, Stranger Things and even Law & Order. 

The Oscars and ‘Slapgate’ weren’t mentioned except in passing by SNL cast member Bowen Yang who joined Thompson to belt out a few jokes.

Here are some of the highlights from the event.

Also Read | Emmys 2022 snubs Barry, Better Call Saul, among others

The youngest two-time Emmy winner

The 26-year-old Zendaya has become the first Black woman to win an outstanding lead actress in a drama series twice in addition to becoming the youngest two-time Emmy winner in the acting category. Her performance as Rue in the teen drama Euphoria has been widely praised. 

At her acceptance speech, Zendaya thanked friends and family, singling out Euphoria showrunner Sam Levinson for “sharing” Rue with her. She also mentioned how grateful she was that her portrayal of Rue had helped people saying, “Anyone who has loved a Rue, or feels like a Rue, I want you to know that I’m so grateful for your stories, and I carry them with me, and I carry them with her.”

Also Read | Zendaya upcoming movies and TV shows

Succession and Ted Lasso win big

The multi-season spanning opera of corporate hedonism, family dysfunction and power plays won the Emmy Award for best drama series for the second time, since it first received the statuette in 2020. 

Show creator and screenwriter Jesse Armstrong accepted the award on behalf of the show, throwing in a quip about the new King of England. “A bit more voting involved in our winning than Prince Charles,” he said. 

Armstrong also won the award for outstanding writing for a drama series. 

Ted Lasso won its second consecutive outstanding comedy series award with Jason Sudeikis accepting the award on behalf of the show. Sudeikis who also plays the show’s titular character took home the award for outstanding lead actor in a comedy series the second year in a row. Brett Goldstein, who plays Roy Kent in the show also won his second consecutive Emmy in the best supporting actor in a comedy series category for the show. He is also a writer and co-executive producer on the show. 

Squid Game makes history

With 14 nominations under its belt, the Seoul-based dystopian drama made a splash last September as it drew thousands of eye-balls to its story and characters. The show’s premise revolves around various down-on-their-luck characters playing deadly children’s games to win a massive cash prize. The show is the first non-English language series to be nominated for an Emmy in the outstanding drama series category. 

South Korean lead actor Lee Jung-jae won the Emmy statuette for outstanding lead actor in a drama series. In the show, Lee played Player 456, a single father desperately in need of cash to support his daughter and the character that ultimately won.  Lee is the first South Korean actor to have won in the outstanding lead actor category.

Director Hwang Dong-hyuk received the award for outstanding director of a drama series, beating out the likes of Jason Bateman who directed Ozark and Ben Stiller who directed Apple TV+’s Severance. 

White Lotus takes home the Big 3

The comedy-drama anthology about the fictitious titular hotel chain and its assortment of guests won three of the biggest awards at the Emmys on Monday. 

Murray Bartlett wrangled his first ever Emmy for outstanding supporting actor in a limited or anthology series or movie at the age of 51. 

Also Read | Murray Bartlett upcoming movies and TV shows

Jennifer Coolidge won her first ever Emmy for outstanding supporting actress in a limited or anthology series or movie. 

Showrunner Mike White, along with the show’s executive producers David Bernad, Nick Hall and Mark Karmine won the night’s biggest award, the Emmy for outstanding limited or anthology series.

White who also serves as the director and writer on the show, won Emmys for outstanding directing and writing for a limited or anthology series.