Raheem Sterling has climbed into the top ten of Manchester City‘s all-time leading scorers.

The winger’s magnificent 20-yard curling strike against Sporting in the first leg of our Champions League last 16 encounter was his 127th goal for the club since signing in July 2015, putting him ahead of Alec Herd in the standings.

Also read: Kylian Mbappe scores late goal to help PSG beat Real Madrid 1-0

Sterling’s achievement came in his 323rd appearance for City, and it was also his 150th club career goal.

To date, the 27-year-old has scored 88 Premier League goals, 24 Champions League goals, eight FA Cup goals, six League Cup goals, and one Community Shield goal for City.

Indeed, with 24 goals in the Champions League, he is now tied for second place with Paul Scholes on the all-time scoring record for Englishmen in the competition. Wayne Rooney (30) is the only player with more.

He needs six more goals to move up the ranks, since Fred Tilson and Billy Gillespie are tied for ninth place with 132 goals each.

Also read: Manchester City ruthless in 5-0 win over Sporting in Champions League

Sterling scored his first goal in City colours in his fourth appearance, converting Bacary Sagna’s cross on the volley in a 2-0 win over Watford in August 2015, and he went on to score his first professional hat-trick two months later in a 5-1 win over Bournemouth for Manuel Pellegrini’s side.

The England international has been a consistent scorer for City throughout his career, but under Pep Guardiola, that aspect of his game has reached new heights.

Also read: UEFA Champions League: PSG vs Real Madrid might see Neymar’s comeback

In three of the last four seasons, Sterling has scored more than 20 goals, including a career-high 31 in 2019-20 before exceeding 100 on sky blue the following season, and no one in the current club has scored more goals than our No.7.

Raheem Sterling is congratulated by everyone at Manchester City on reaching yet another significant milestone in his career.

Also read:

City’s Top 10 Goalscorers

1. Sergio Aguero – 260

2. Eric Brook – 177

3. Tommy Johnson – 166

4. Colin Bell – 153

5. Joe Hayes – 152

6. Billy Meredith – 151

7. Francis Lee – 148

8. Tommy Browell – 139

9. Billy Gillespie and Fred Tilson – 132

10. Raheem Sterling – 127