Revolutionary Goans (RG) last month announced they will contest under the upcoming Goa elections the banner of Goa Su-Raj Party. Founded 2.5 years ago by Manoj Purab, the party aims to challenge the political heavyweights in state. 

Also read: Explained: Who succeeds General Bipin Rawat? The process of appointing CDS

Making the announcement at an event in Panaji, Parab had said, “Revolutionary Goans will contest election on Goa Su-Raj party name. This is not a seat-sharing adjustment or tie-up of any compromise or setting. Here we, Revolutionary Goans, will remain as RG but as we need a political party and single symbol to contest the elections, we have decided to do it with Goa Su-Raj party.”

He had also said that he met with Aam Aadmi Party’s Arvind Kejriwal and political strategist Prashant Kishor. 

Also read: Scheduled international commercial flights suspended till January 31: DGCA

“Today the time has come to say that Goans are not helpless, we are revolutionary. We will save our Goa. It is time for Goans to get out of the slavery to people from other states. There are dalals today who are running from one party to the other. They don’t have principles, they don’t have an ideology,” he added.

“These parties from Delhi and other places have treated us as dirt. We will win the elections and show them.”

As per RG, they aim to fight for the existence of Goans in their motherland, to preserve their identity, culture and heritage. They are pushing for the platform of – Goa for Goans.

Also read: Prime Minister Narendra Modi commemorates first meet of Constituent Assembly

RG had applied to the Election Commission for registering them as a political party but the recognition has not arrived.

They will contest all 40 assembly constituencies in Goa in the assembly elections. 

“BJP has tried its best to tarnish our image and destroy us, but we have emerged stronger”, alleged Purab. “Nothing can stop Revolutionary Goans from bringing Goa back into the hands of the Goans. We must free Goa from the various political parties that have ruled here since Independence,” he said.

Other parties likely to contest in the Goa assembly elections include BJP, Congress, AAP, Shiv Sena, Trinamool Congress, Goa Forward Party (GFP), Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP), and Goencho Avaaz.