The Barchalla assembly constituency is currently held by BJP MLA Ganesh Kumar Limbu, who defeated Tanka Bahadur Rai of Congress in 2016. The seat, one of Assam’s 126 assembly constituencies, falls under the Tezpur Lok Sabha constituency. 

The Barchalla assembly constituency picked a BJP candidate for the first time in 2016. Before that, it used to swing between Congress and Asom Gana Parishad.

Also read: Assam Assembly Election 2021: Polling dates, candidates, numbers

Here are a few details about the Barchalla Assembly seat:

Name of the assembly constituency, district: Barchalla, Sonitpur

Lok Sabha constituency: Tezpur

2016 candidates: Ganesh Kumar Limbul (BJP), Tanka Bahadur Rai (Congress), Bina Daimari (AIUDF)

2020 candidates: NA

Sitting MLA, party: Ganesh Kumar Limbul, BJP

Winning margin in 2016: 23682

Runner up name, party: Tanka Bahadur Rai, Congress

Number of voters in 2016: 119822

Percentage of votes polled in 2016: 83.08%

Number of women voters in 2016: 57685

Number of polling booths in 2016: 196