The counting of votes for Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) by-polls in five wards: Rohini-C, Shalimar Bagh North, Trilokpuri, Kalyanpuri, and Chauhan Bangar started on Wednesday. The Aam Aadmi Party bagged four wards, as Sunita Mishra won Shalimar Bagh, Dhirender Kumar won Kalyanpuri. Congress’ Zubair Ahmad Chaudhary has won the Chauhan Bangar ward. The AAP also won Trilokpuri and Rohini-C wards. 

Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) is confident of winning all the five MCD wards, as on Sunday, Durgesh Pathak, a senior party leader, said he visited all the polling booths in the wards and is sure that AAP will win all the five wards.

Also Read | Enthused by Gujarat local poll win, AAP begins micro-planning for UP panchayat election

The polling in the five wards, Ward No 32N, (Rohini-C), Ward No 62N, (Shalimar Bagh North) in north Delhi and Ward No 02-E (Trilokpuri), Ward No 08-E (Kalyanpuri) and Ward No 41-E (Chauhan Bangar), were held on Sunday, as around 50.96% voter turnout was registered. The voting was held amid the COVID-19 pandemic with all the safety guidelines in place.

The Trilokpuri and Kalyanpuri wards are reserved for the Scheduled Caste (SC) category, while Shalimar Bagh (North) is reserved for women candidates. 

Polling was held at 327 polling stations and 26 candidates are in the fray. In the Kalyanpuri ward, AAP’s Dhirendra Kumar, BJP’s Siyaram Kanojia and Congress’ Dharamal Maurya are the main candidates. While in Trilokpuri ward, AAP’s  Vijay Kumar, BJP’s Om Prakash Gugarwal and Bal Kishan of Congress are the main candidates.

In Chauhan Banger, former AAP MLA is up against Ishraq Khan is up against Chaudhary Zubair Ahmad of Congress and Nazir Ansari of BJP. 

The by-election of these three wards was necessitated after sitting councillors were elected as MLAs.

By-polls were necessitated in Shalimar Bagh (North) after it fell vacant after the death of the BJP councillor.