The process to redraw the constituencies of Assam, Manipur, Nagaland, Arunachal Pradesh and Jammu and Kashmir will begin soon after the Delimitation Commission prepares a ‘broad framework’, news agency PTI reported quoting officials.

Once the framework has been finalised, the commission will look into the inputs from ‘associate members’, which includes a group of 15 Lok Sabha MPs and MLAs. The group also has Union ministers Kiren Rijiju and Jitendra Singh as its members.

Also Read: Census, National Population Register unlikely in 2020

“First the broad framework has to be developed on carving out constituencies based on the 2011 Census. Only then would the Delimitation Commission visit the states to meet locals. Once the framework is drawn, it would also interact with associate members to seek their views and inputs,” PTI quoted an official aware of the developments, as saying.

The Delimitation Commission for the four north-eastern states and Jammu and Kashmir was set up in March and is headed by former Supreme Court judge Justice Ranjana Desai.