IPL 2022 season is set to kick off on Saturday with 10 teams contesting for the
coveted trophy for the first time in the T20 league’s history. This time the
IPL will be held in India after a COVID-19 pandemic enforced break of two years
much to the delight of cricket fans.

Also Read: IPL: List of all purple cap winners

two-month extravaganza will see a total of 74 matches being played across four
venues in Mumbai’s  Wankhede Stadium, DY
Patil Stadium and Brabourne Stadium, and the MCA stadium in Pune.

recognise stand out performers every year with special awards. While a bowler
gets Purple Cap for taking maximum wickets in a season, a batter is conferred
with an Orange Cap for scoring most runs.

Also Read: IPL 2022: Ravi Shastri to watch 3 cricketers ‘very closely’ for future India captaincy

the upcoming season just days away, let’s refresh our memories and take a look
at all the Orange Cap winners from previous IPL seasons.

Ruturaj Gaikwad (2021) – In Chennai Super
Kings’ (CSK) title-winning season, batter Ruturaj Gaikwad scored 635 runs in 16
matches at an average of 45.35. Gaikwad also maintained a solid strike rate of

Also Read: IPL 2022: SWOT Analysis of Gujarat Titans

KL Rahul (2020) – Playing for Punjab
Kings, KL Rahul scored 670 runs in 14 matches, the most by a batter in that season. He maintained an average of 55.83 and also hit an unbeaten 132.

David Warner (2019) – The southpaw scored
692 runs in 12 matches at an average of 69.20 and maintained a strike rate of
143.86. David Warner, while leading the Sunrisers Hyderabad franchise, won the Orange
Cap that year.

Kane Williamson (2018) – In IPL 2018,
right-handed prolific batter Kane Williamson scored 735 runs in 17 matches at
an average of 52.50. Williamson won the Orange Cap for the magnificent

Also Read: IPL 2022: BCCI to allow 25 % crowd in stadiums as per COVID protocols

David Warner (2017) – It was yet another
year of domination by Warner. The SRH captain scored 641 runs in 14 matches at
an average of 58.27 and won the Orange Cap.

Virat Kohli (2016) – In the eighth
season of the IPL, then Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) captain Kohli scored
973 runs in 16 matches, the highest tally in IPL history. He averaged 81 and
hit four centuries.

David Warner (2015) – In 14 matches,
SRH’s Warner scored 562 runs at an average of 43.23. The southpaw won the
Orange Cap yet again.

Also Read: Chennai Super Kings, Lucknow Super Giants unveil jerseys for IPL 2022, see pics

Robin Uthappa (2014) – Playing for Kolkata
Knight Riders, Uthappa amassed 660 runs in 16 matches at an average of 44.
Uthappa’s stellar season proved key as KKR won their second IPL title in 2014.

Michael Hussey (2013) – Chennai Super Kings
batter Hussey displayed his classic batting scoring 733 runs in 17 matches at
an average of 52.35. The finisher won the Orange Cap for this outstanding

Chris Gayle (2012) – RCB’s left-handed
hard-hitter Gayle scored 733 runs in 14 innings (out of 15 matches) at an
average of 61. The tally earned Gayle the coveted Orange Cap.

Also Read: IPL 2022: Kohli, off captaincy duty, has clarity on ‘what I have to do’

Chris Gayle (2011) – In 12 matches,
Gayle scored 608 runs at an average of 67.55 and won the Orange Cap.

Sachin Tendulkar (2010) – For the first time
in the IPL T20, Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar scored 618 runs in 15 matches
and won the Orange Cap.

Matthew Hayden (2009) – In the second
season of IPL, Hayden used his Mongoose bat and scored 572 runs for Chennai
Super Kings in 12 matches. Hayden won the Orange Cap for scoring the most runs
in a season.

Shaun Marsh (2008) – In the inaugural
season of IPL, Australian batter Shaun Marsh won the Orange Cap for scoring 616
runs in 11 matches at an average of 68.44 while playing for Punjab Kings.