Kanhangad state assembly constituency is located in Kasaragod district of Kerala and is part of Kasaragod Lok Sabha constituency. It is an open seat. It consists of one of seven legislative assembly seats under Kasaragod . E Chandrasekharan of CPI(M) is the sitting MLA of Kanhangad seat. He won against Dhanya Suresh of Congress in 2016 by a margin of 26,011 votes. Rajmohan Unnithan of Congress won the Kasaragod Lok Sabha constituency in 2019.

Here are a few details about the Kanhangad assembly seat:

Name of the assembly constituency, district: Kanhangad, Kasaragod

Lok Sabha constituency: Kasaragod

Polling date: April 6, 2021

2016 candidates: E Chandrasekharan (CPM), Dhanya Suresh (Congress)

2021 candidates: E Chandrasekharan (CPM), Balraj M (BJP), PV Suresh (Congress)

Sitting MLA, party: E Chandrasekharan (CPM)

Winning margin in 2016: 26,011

Runner up name, party: Dhanya Suresh (Congress)

Number of voters in 2016: 1,61,302

Percentage of votes polled in 2016: 78.71%

Number of women voters in 2016: 85,241

Number of polling booths in 2016: 159