The exit polls for the Manipur elections have predicted a majority for the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in the 60-member assembly. Multiple exit poll results released for five states after the final phase of polling ended in Uttar Pradesh on Monday indicated the ruling BJP is set to retain the state.

OPOYI Poll of Polls suggests the BJP is leading in the state with 27-33 seats, while the Congress is expected to win 10-15. Other parties are likely to bag 12-23 seats. 

The majority mark in the state is 31. 

Also Read | UP Election Exit Poll Results 2022: BJP coming back to power in UP, predict exit polls

What are exit polls?

Exit polls are a survey of voters leaving
polling stations after casting their ballots. They are known to go wrong at times.

Also Read | Exit polls give Punjab to AAP

During the Bihar assembly elections in 2020, most organisations prediceted a clear victory for the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD)-led Mahagathbanghan, but the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) emerged victorious. 

They also failed to predict the pro-BJP wave in the 2017 Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections.

Also Read | Exit polls predict close contest, hung house in Goa

There are many different methods and
procedures used by agencies conducting exit polls. Sampling is one of the most
common techniques. Agencies may choose random or systematic sampling.

The elections for the 403-member Uttar Pradesh assembly were held over seven phases. Polling for 349
seats was conducted in six phases on February 10, 14, 20, 23, 27, and March 3,
while the last phase, covering 54 seats, was held today.

On February 14, Goa and Uttarakhand, two of
the five states that voted, held a single phase of voting. In Uttarakhand,
there are 70 seats in the Assembly, compared to 40 in Goa.

Also Read | Exit Polls: Close contest in Uttarakhand, BJP holds edge over Congress

On February 20, Punjab held its elections
in a single phase. There were two phases of voting in the hill state of Manipur
– on February 28 and March 5.

The results for Manipur, Uttar Pradesh,
Punjab, Uttarakhand and Goa will be announced on March 10.