Exit polls predict a close contest between the BJP and the Congress in the hill state of Uttarakhand, with an edge for the BJP.

OPOYI Poll of Polls suggest BJP leading in the state of Uttarakhand in 32-38 seats. Congress is expected to win in 29-34 seats. AAP is being granted a chance of having 0-1 seats in the state.

On February 14, Goa and Uttarakhand, two of the five states that voted, held a single phase of voting. In Uttarakhand, there are 70 seats in the Assembly, compared to 40 in Goa.

Also read: UP Election Exit Poll Results 2022: BJP coming back to power in UP, predict exit polls

The hill state of Uttarakhand reported an overall turnout of 65.37% in the 2022 assembly elections. The highest polling was recorded in Haridwar (74.77%), followed by Udham Singh Nagar (72.27%) and Uttarkashi (68.48). Almora had the lowest voter turnout at 53.71%.

Also read: Exit polls give Punjab to AAP

Key battle grounds in the state included Khatima, Lalkuwa, Gangotri, Chakrata and Bajpur.

Khatima has traditionally been a stronghold of CM Pushkar Singh Dhami. The 45-year-old chief minister, who recently promised to implement a Uniform Civil Code if his party was re-elected, has won the seat twice — in 2011 and in 2017.

Also read: Uttarakhand: These 5 poll battles may decide fate of hill state

“Everyone has done good work, we’re having a meeting before the counting of votes. All aspects are being discussed. Everyone will be in their designated areas that day & ensure smooth counting. We are confident that we are forming the govt again,” said Uttarakhand CM Pushkar Singh Dhami, earlier in the day.

Also read: BJP set to retain Manipur, predict exit polls

The elections in Uttar Pradesh were scheduled to take place in seven phases for 403 seats. The election for 349 seats was conducted in six phases on February 10, 14, 20, 23, 27, and March 3, while the last phase, covering 54 seats, is being held today.

Also read: Goa Election Exit Poll Results 2022, Public Opinion on Goa Assembly Elections 2022

On February 20, Punjab held its elections in a single phase. There were two phases of voting in the hill state of Manipur – on February 28 and March 5.

The results for Uttarakhand, alongside Manipur, Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, and Goa will be announced on March 10, 2022.