Mettur is a state legislative assembly constituency in
Salem district of Tamil Nadu. Mettur taluk falls under this constituency and it
is a part Dharmapuri Lok Sabha constituency for national elections to the
Parliament of India. Semmalai S of All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK)
is the sitting MLA of Mettur. He won the seat by defeating Parthiban SR from
Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) by 6,282 votes.

Also Read| Tamil Nadu polls: Arani constituency picked AIADMK’s candidate in 2016

Here are a few details about the Mettur assembly

Name of the assembly constituency, district: Mettur, Salem

Lok Sabha constituency: Dharmapuri

Polling date: April 6

2016 candidates: Semmalai S (AIADMK), Parthiban SR (DMK),
Mani GK (PMK)

2021 candidates: NA

Sitting MLA, party: Semmalai S, AIADMK

Winning margin in 2016: 6,282

Runner up name, party: Parthiban SR, DMK

Number of voters in 2016: 207,673

Percentage of votes polled in 2016: 78.91%

Number of women voters in 2016: 98,77

Number of polling booths in 2016: 873