Rohit Sharma, Team India captain, and
fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah have been named among five players in Wisden’s
‘Cricketers of the Year’ in the 2022 edition of the Almanack.

Also Read: Why did Joe Root quit England Test captaincy? Read his full statement

The list also comprises New Zealand
batter Devon Conway, England pacer Ollie Robinson and Proteas women star Dane
van Niekerk.

Meanwhile, England cricketer Joe Root
has been named the leading cricketer in the world, while South African women’s
team batter Lizelle Lee has been awarded the title of leading woman cricketer.

Also Read: Anderson has ‘stopped trying to make sense of’ being dropped from England’s Test team

Pakistan’s wicketkeeper-batter Mohammad
has been conferred with the title of leading T20 cricketer in the world.

In India’s last tour of England last
year, Bumrah played a pivotal role in India’s remarkable 2-1 lead in the series
which will conclude in July this year.

Rohit, on the other hand, had enjoyed a
stellar season for India, accumulating 368 runs in four Tests at an average of
52.57. The India skipper scored a match-defining 127 at The Oval, his first
Test century away from home.

Also Read: Watch: Pujara’s record breaking 201 on Sussex debut

Root, who recently stepped down as
England Test captain, scored 1,708 runs in Test cricket in a calendar year.
Root’s tally is the third highest in the history of cricket.

Lizelle Lee won the award of leading
woman cricketer in the world after a dominant 2021, averaging 90.28 with the
bat in ODI cricket, including a spectacular series against India in which she
scored 288 runs in four innings.

Also Read: IPL 2022: Dinesh Karthik eyes India comeback after smashing 34-ball 66

Rizwan’s recognition came after a
record-breaking 2021 in which he scored 1,329 runs at 72.88 in 27 T20Is that
included a century and 11 fifties. Bypassing 1,000 runs in a calendar year, he
also became the first cricketer in the international game to achieve the feat.