The Harbour Assembly constituency is located in the Chennai district of Tamil Nadu. It is part of the Chennai Central Lok Sabha constituency and is an unreserved seat. PK Sekar Babu of Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) is the sitting MLA of Harbour. He defeated KS Sreenivasan of AIADMK by a margin of 4,836 votes in 2016. DMK’s Dayanidhi Maran is the Chennai Central Lok Sabha MP.

Also read: Tamil Nadu polls: Royapuram constituency picked AIADMK’s candidate in 2016

Here are a few details about the Harbour assembly seat:

Name of the assembly constituency, district: Harbour, Chennai

Lok Sabha constituency: Chennai Central

Polling date: April 6, 2021

2016 candidates: P K Sekar Babu (DMK), K S Sreenivasan (AIADMK), Krishnakumar Nadhani (BJP)

2021 candidates: PK Sekar Babu (DMK)

Sitting MLA, party: P K Sekar Babu, DMK

Winning margin in 2016: 4,836

Runner up name, party: K S Sreenivasan, AIADMK

Number of voters in 2016: 1,04,313

Percentage of votes polled in 2016: 55.44%

Also read: Tamil Nadu polls: Thiru Vi Ka Nagar constituency picked a DMK candidate in 2016

Number of women voters in 2016: 46,626

Number of polling booths in 2016: 177