The Oddanchatram assembly constituency is currently held by DMK MLA Sakkarapani R, who defeated Kittusamy K of AIADMK in 2016. The seat, one of Tamil Nadu’s 234 assembly constituencies, falls under the Dindigul Lok Sabha constituency. 

The Oddanchatram assembly constituency is politically leaned towards DMK. Sakkarapani R has been winning this seat on DMK’s ticket since 1996.

Also read: 75% jobs for locals in Tamil Nadu, free tablets for students: DMK releases election manifesto

Here are a few details about the Oddanchatram Assembly seat:

Name of the assembly constituency, district: Oddanchatram, Dindigul

Lok Sabha constituency: Dindigul

2016 candidates: Sakkarapani R (DMK), Kittusamy K (AIADMK)

2020 candidates: NA

Sitting MLA, party: Sakkarapani R, DMK

Winning margin in 2016: 65,727

Runner up name, party: Kittusamy K, AIADMK

Number of voters in 2016: 189,449

Percentage of votes polled in 2016: 84.93%

Number of women voters in 2016: 94,839

Number of polling booths in 2016: 273