Congress leader Priyanka Gandhi Vadra dropped a huge hint on Saturday that she could be the party’s chief ministerial candidate for the upcoming Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections 2022. 

Responding to a media query about who the face of the party would be in the state, she said, “Do you see any other face in the UP Congress party? Then?”

On further questioning, she added: “Dikh to raha hai na sab jagah mera chehra? (You can see my face, can’t you?”

The Congress General Secretary, however, clarified that no decision had been taken so far on if she would contest the election. 

Also Read: UP elections 2022: Priyanka Gandhi’s campaign face Priyanka Maurya joins BJP

Importantly, she could become the CM by winning a seat in the UP legislative council, even if she isn’t elected to the Assembly. 

The Indian National Congress had released its first list of candidates for the UP elections on January 13. The list consisted of a total of 125 candidates, out of which, 40% of the total tickets were given to women candidates.

Priyanka Gandhi, while announcing the candidate list, had said in a press conference that Congress is giving tickets to 50 women out of 125 total candidates in the first list.

The second list of 41 candidates was released on Thursday, January 20, which included 16 women. With this, the party has so far announced 166 candidates for the elections.

Also Read: UP elections 2022: Its Chandrashekhar Azad vs Yogi Adityanath In Gorakhpur

Meanwhile, Priyanka Maurya, the face of Congress ‘Ladki Hoon, Lad Sakti Hoon’ poster in Uttar Pradesh, on Thursday joined the BJP ahead of the polls.

She said that the campaign had been rendered as a mere slogan because “as a ‘ladki’ (woman), I was not allowed to contest elections because I could not pay bribe”.

“I have worked a lot in the field but ticket distribution was pre-planned. I was not given a ticket, but I was a deserving candidate,” she had said a day before her move.

Also read: Mulayam Singh Yadav ‘counseled’ Aparna to not leave SP: Akhilesh Yadav

The UP Assembly elections 2022 for 403 seats will be held in seven phases from February 10 to March 7. The counting of votes will take place on March 10.