The fates of 624 candidates in 59 constituencies will be decided in the fourth phase of the Uttar Pradesh assembly elections today. Among the constituencies, spread across nine districts, going to polls today are the five in state capital Lucknow and eight in Lakhimpur Kheri district. 

In the fourth phase of the Uttar Pradesh elections, the Election Commission of India (ECI) recorded 58.08% voter turnout at the end of the polling. At 63.47%, Lakhimpur Kheri reported maximum voter turnout. At 61.42%, Pilibhit stands next to the Lakhimpur Kheri constituency. Unnao reported 54.87% voter turnout which is the lowest among the constituencies that underwent polling in the fourth phase. 

Voters can exercise their franchise at a total of 13,813 polling stations and 24,580 polling booths in 208 police station areas, from 7 am till 6 pm, across the districts of Fatehpur, Banda, Pilibhit, Hardoi, Lakhimpur Kheri, Lucknow, Rae Bareli, Sitapur and Unnao.

Also Read | Kanpur mayor takes photo while casting vote; booked for security breach

The BJP had won 51 of the 59 constituencies that will vote today, with the Samajwadi Party and the Bahujan Samaj Party winning four and three seats respectively. BJP’s ally Apna Dal (Sonelal) bagged one seat. 

The battle for the seat Lakhimpur is key for Union Minister Ajay Mishra, whose son Ashish is a murder suspect in the death of four farmers during a protest in October last year. A total of eight people were killed in the protest on October 3, after an SUV allegedly belonging to Ashish ran over them.

Also Read | Akhilesh rebukes BJP claim of SP link to Ahmedabad blast convicts

Among other key candidates are Uttar Pradesh Law Minister Brijesh Pathak, who will look to defend the Lucknow Cantonment seat against SP leader Surendra Singh Gandhi.

As many as 860 companies of paramilitary forces and over 60,000 policemen will provide security in this phase. Of the 860 companies of the Central Armed Police Forces (CAPFs), 800 will be involved in booth duty, 52 companies put on law and order duties, 23 on QRT (quick response team), 10 on inter-state barrier points.

Also Read | Punjab sees slump in voter turnout for Assembly polls, numbers hark back to 2002

“Similarly, in the fourth phase, 7,022 inspectors and sub-inspectors of Uttar Pradesh Police, and 58,132 head constables and constables will be deployed along with 21 companies of PAC, 50,490 home-guards, 185 PRD jawans, and 8,486 chowkidars,” according to a statement.

Election results will be declared on March 10.