Varanasi Cantonment, one of the five assembly constituencies in Varanasi, was won by Bharatiya Janta Party in the 2017 polls. Saurabh Srivastava, a candidate of the BJP, beat Congress candidate Anil Srivastava by a margin of 61,326 votes.

The 2017 elections showed BJP’s dominance in the state of Uttar Pradesh, as the party formed its government with an absolute majority, shadowing the Samajwadi Party. Yogi Adityanath was made the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh.

Also Read: In 2022 UP campaign, Priyanka Gandhi outscores Yogi Adityanath in rallies

Varanasi Cantt is one of the five assembly constituencies in the Varanasi Lok Sabha Constituency. In 2012, Jyotsana Srivastava, a candidate of BJP defeated Anil Srivastava Maurya by 12852 votes.

BJP secured 312 of 403 assembly seats in Uttar Pradesh, sealing their win. Akhilesh Yadav’s Samajwadi Party came in second and managed to win 47 seats. Bahujan Samaj Party, headed by Mayawati, came in third with 19 seats and Congress secured seven seats.

Also read: Exit polls are all the rage, but can you really trust them?

The 2012 assembly polls were won by Samajwadi Party with 224 seats while Bahujan Samaj Party was the runner up, managing to hold onto 80 seats. BJP won 47 and Congress 28.  

Quick facts about the Varanasi Cantt Assembly seat:

Name of the assembly constituency, district: Varanasi Cantt Assembly constituency, Varanasi district  

Name of winner, party: Saurabh Srivastava, BJP 

Lok Sabha constituency: Varanasi Lok Sabha constituency.   

Top 3 candidates 2017: Saurabh Srivastava, Anil Srivastava, Rijwan Ahmad 

Also Read: Akhilesh Yadav confident of victory even as exit polls predict BJP return

Top 3 candidates 2012: Jyotsana Srivastava, Anil Srivastva, Ashfaq Ahmad Alias Dablu 

Sitting MLA, party: Saurabh Srivastava, BJP 

Winning margin in 2017: 61326 

Runner up name, party: Anil Srivastava, INC 

Number of voters in 2017: 412316 

Percentage of votes polled in 2017: 58.46%