The Justice Arumugasamy Commission that is probing the death of former Tamil Nadu CM and AIADMK leader J. Jayalalithaa presented its inquiry report in the Tamil Nadu assembly on Tuesday. 

The report ordered an inquiry on former AIADMK general secretary Sasikala, former Health Minister C. Vijayabaskar, former Health Secretary Radhakrishna, and doctor Sivakumar in Jayalalithaa’s death.

“From all these aspects, the commission concludes that R.1-VK Sasikala, CW.17-KS Sivakumar, CW.136-Dr.J.Radhakrishnan, then Health Secretary and C.W.146-Dr. C. Vijayabaskar then Health Minister has to be found fault with and an investigation is to be ordered”, the report said. 

Also Read: Jayalalithaa death: Arumugasamy Commission orders inquiry against Sasikala

Who is C. Vijayabaskar?

C.Vijayabaskar is an Indian politician from the All-Indian Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam Party (AIADMK). He was born on April 8, 1974, at Iluppur, Pudukkottai, Tamil Nadu to R. Chinnathambi Mazhavarayar.

Vijayabaskar completed his formal education at Rajah Muthiah Medical College and Hospital (RMMCH), Chidambaram. 

He served as the Health Minister of Tamil Nadu from 2011 to 2021. He is a member of the Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly for the Viralimalai constituency, from where he won elections in 2011, 2016, and 2021. 

Vijaybaskar’s house was raided by income tax officials in April 2017. This led to First Information Reports (FIR) being filed against his fellow ministers, R.Kamaraj and Udumalai K. Radhakrishnan but were cancelled due to lack of evidence.  

He was further investigated by the Central Bureau of Investigation in 2018. 

A case was filed against Vijayabaskar for illegally acquiring disproportionate assets worth Rs 27 crore during his five-year tenure in the 2016–2021 Tamil Nadu government led by the AIADMK, by The The Directorate of Vigilance and Anti-Corruption (DVAC). The DVAC registered a case against him and has also named his wife. Further searches were carried out at multiple properties owned by him and his family on October 18, 2021.

He was appointed as treasurer of AIADMK at the General council meeting on July 11, 2022. 

Also Read: Who is Justice A Arumugasamy?

The politician is married to Ramya and the couple have two children.