Cristiano Ronaldo and Mohamed Salah were amongst the prominent players who failed to make the cut for EA Sports’ FIFA 22 Team of the Year. The likes of Achraf Hakimi, Marquinhos were inlcluded in the Ultimate XI. 

After a 80-player shortlist was announced earlier this month, fans across the world selected their Ultimate XI. Now, each player included will receive special stat boosts and performance-enhancing items in-game to reflect their achievement.

Also read: Ralf Rangnick defends decision to substitute Cristiano Ronaldo vs Brentford

Along with Ronaldo and Salah, Paris Saint Germain’s Neymar,  Real Madrid’s Karim Benzema or Borussia Dortmund’s Erling Haaland did not find a place in the Team of the Year. 

Five PSG players, three from Manchester City and two ftom Chelsea were included in the FIFA 22 TOTY Final XI. 

Star midfielders like Joshua Kimmich, Luka Modric and Marco Verratti were not included despite winning their domestic league titles in 2020. Liverpool duo Virgil van Dijk and Trent Alexander-Arnold were also omitted. 

Also read: 2021 Best FIFA Football Awards: Who did Ronaldo, Messi, and Lewandowski vote for?

 Liverpool’s Alisson, Manchester City’s Ederson and Atletico Madrid’s Jan Oblak found themselves ousted.

Here is the EA Sports FIFA 22 Team of the Year: 

GK: Gianluigi Donnarumma (Paris Saint-Germain, Italy)

RB: Achraf Hakimi (Paris Saint-Germain, Morocco)

CB: Marquinhos (Paris Saint-Germain, Brazil)

CB: Ruben Dias (Manchester City, Portugal)

LB: Joao Cancelo (Manchester City, Portugal)

CM: N’Golo Kante (Chelsea, France)

CM: Jorginho (Chelsea, Italy)

Also read: 2021 Best FIFA Football Awards: In Pictures

CM: Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City, Belgium)

ST: Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint-Germain, France)

ST: Robert Lewandowski (FC Bayern Munich, Poland)

RW: Lionel Messi (Paris Saint-Germain, Argentina)