Starting P10, Max Verstappen trailed the likes of Charles Leclerc, George Russell and Lewis Hamilton for most of the Hungarian Grand Prix. However, the Red Bull driver kept his cool, spun a bit and won the race. 

Also read: Sebastian Vettel to retire: Who’ll replace him at Aston Martin?

With the win, his eighth this season, Verstappen now has an 80-point lead over Charles Leclerc as F1 heads into its mid-season break. The Ferrari driver finished sixth. 

Lewis Hamilton and George Russell, both Mercedes drivers, came second and third. 

Also read: Sebastian Vettel to retire: F1 fraternity shower racer with appreciation

Carlos Sainz Jr. finished fourth in another disastrous day for Ferrari. Sergio Perez of Red Bull came fifth. 

“Who would have thought when we woke up today we’d get this result? Amazing,” Verstappen told his team.

“Unbelievable Max, that is right up there with your best,” Red Bull team principal Christian Horner replied. “Fantastic.”

Also read: Sebastian Vettel to retire: Remembering his five best races

Russell, who started from the pole for the first time in his career, led 30 laps until Leclerc passed him on the outside as dark clouds rolled over the Hungaroring circuit and a light rain began to fall.

With Leclerc leading, Verstappen undercut for quicker tires. Ferrari made a mistake in choosing the more durable hard tires for Leclerc.

“These tires are (expletive),” Leclerc said.

Lando Norris finished seventh for McLaren, Fernando Alonso was eighth and his Alpine teammate Esteban Ocon was ninth. Sebastian Vettel of Aston Martin was 10th.

Also read: Sebastian Vettel retirement: Best moments of his F1 career

After a month-long break the season resumes with a triple header in Belgium, the Netherlands and Italy.

Here are the top 10 at the Hungarian Grand Prix:

1) Max Verstappen Red Bull 

2) Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 

3) George Russell Mercedes 

4) Carlos Sainz Jr. Ferrari 

5) Sergio Pérez Red Bull 

6) Charles Leclerc Ferrari

7) Lando Norris McLaren

8) Fernando Alonso Alpine/Renault

9) Esteban Ocon Alpine/Renault 

10) Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin