Lakshya Sen was defeated by world number one Viktor Axelsen on Sunday in the final at the All England Open Badminton Championships. The game ended with a tally of 21-10, 21-15.

All England Open Badminton Championships, which is considered to be one of the most prestigious badminton tournaments across the globe, has seen only five Indian players reach the final so far — including 20-year-old Lakshya Sen.

Also Read: Sindhu clinches Syed Modi International, ends 2-year BWF tour title drought

Viktor Axelsen, the reigning champion of the badminton tournament, took just 53 minutes to secure his victory in the final game against Sen, who remains unseeded.

Axelsen seemed to be pacing towards victory from the very first serve on Sunday as he went on to take a 6-0 lead in the first game. He secured a nine-point lead halfway through the game. Sen was seen struggling against the world number one Axelsen through the entire game.

The Danish player, who was playing his fourth straight final of All England Open Badminton Championships on Sunday, sealed his win in the second game with a score of 21-15. 

In addition to Lakshya Sen’s recent appearance in the final of All England Open Badminton Championships, only four other Indian players have achieved the feat. Only two have won the tournament so far.

Also Read: Kidambi Srikanth secures historic silver at BWF World Championships

While legendary Indian shuttler Prakash Padukone has made two appearances in the final, he managed to win one of them. He was the Men’s Single’s champion in 1980.

In 2001, Pullela Gopichand secured a win in his first and only appearance in the final of All England Open Badminton Championships in the Men’s Single’s category. Prakash Nath (1947) and Saina Nehwal have also reached the finals.