The dates for all La Liga fixtures in the 2022/23 season have been released, with the fixture list containing adjustments to the league schedule to accommodate the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar.

Here’s everything you need to know about the new season.

Also read | Nkunku signs new RB Leipzig deal, snubs Man Utd, other Premier League clubs

When will La Liga 2022/23 begin, pause, and end?

The new season of La Liga will commence on August 13, and will be paused after the games in the November 12-13 weekend to accommodate the FIFA World Cup that will begin in Qatar from November 21.

After the end of the World Cup on December 18, player’s will get about a week’s time off before La Liga resumes on December 29.

The season will end on June 4, 2023.

Also read | Why outgoing Real Madrid full-back Marcelo is not keen on joining AC Milan

Opening day fixtures: The opening weekend of La Liga, from August 13-14, will see all 20 sides in action, with some potentially juicy clashes on the cards.

– Athletic Club v RCD Mallorca
– Barcelona v Rayo Vallecano
– Real Betis v Elche
– Celta Vigo v Espanyol
– Cádiz v Real Sociedad
– Osasuna v Sevilla
– Almería vs Real Madrid
– Getafe v Atlético de Madrid
– Real Valladolid v Villarreal
– Valencia v Girona

Also read | Liverpool to buy Marco Asensio from Real Madrid? What we know so far

El Clasico dates: Possibly the most watched club football fixture on the planet, El Clasicos, featuring giants Real Madrid and Barcelona, are the highlight of La Liga.

In the 2022/23 season, Real Madrid will first host Barcelona at the Santiago Bernabeu on October 16, before playing the return fixture in the home turf of the Blaugrana on March 19, 2023.

Also read | How FIFA plans to fight online hate speech during 2022 World Cup and beyond

Derby days: Beyond El Clasicos, La Liga also offers some explosive derby day action. Major derby days in the 2022/23 season are listed below.

– Atlético de Madrid v Real Madrid: September 18, 2022
– Real Betis v Sevilla: November 6, 2022
– Barcelona v Espanyol: December 31, 2022
– Real Sociedad v Athletic Club: January 14, 2023
– Real Madrid v Atlético de Madrid: February 26, 2023
– Athletic Club v Real Sociedad: April 26, 2023
– Espanyol v Barcelona: May 14, 2023
– Sevilla v Real Betis: May 21, 2023

Also read | ‘The poor guy’: Perez takes another jab at Mbappe for Real Madrid deal snub

Final weekend fixtures: The final day of the season, June 4, 2023, will also see all 20 sides in action. The full list of final weekend fixtures are given below.

– Real Betis v Valencia
– Mallorca v Rayo Vallecano
– Real Sociedad v Sevilla
– Real Madrid v Atheltic Club
– Villarreal v Atlético de Madrid
– Celta Vigo v Barcelona
– Real Valladolid v Getafe
– Elche v Cádiz
– Espanyol v Almería
– Osasuna v Girona