Robert Lewandowski was awarded a penalty re-take against France in the FIFA World Cup 2022 round of 16 match. The Polish striker scored on the second attempt. 

However, France beat Poland 3-1 and qualified for the quarterfinals. 

Lewandowski was awarded a penalty in the final minutes of the extra time. He took an awkward, stuttering run-up before shooting. However, French goalkeeper Hugo Lloris was off his line and a retake was awarded. 

Also Read: France’s Kylian Mbappe speeds up, forward’s paced run vs Poland in FIFA World Cup 2022 tracked on camera

The striker, who might be playing his last World Cup, sent Lloris the wrong way to bag his second goal of the tournament. 


“But are those stuttering penalty runups like Lewandowski’s not illegal?” a Twitter user said. 

“For someone as good at scoring as Lewandowski, his penalty technique is absolutely dreadful,” another one added. 

“Lewandowski out here fumbling with skip-jump penalties. Just blast your shot after all, a goal Issa a goal,” a third one added. 

During this year’s competition, the Polish team matched their best-ever performance from 1984 when they progressed to the Round of 16. The team advanced to the knockout stages after being placed second in Group C, which was won by Lionel Messi’s Argentina.

Also Read: What did Lewandowski say to Mbappe after FIFA World Cup France vs Poland? Fans wonder after Messi episode

The European team played a scoreless opening game against Mexico, won their second game against Saudia Arabia, 2-0, and suffered a loss to Argentina. They were level on points with four with the team from Latin America, and Mexico, but advanced to the next round courtesy of a superior goal difference.

The FC Barcelona forward could only manage to score two goals during this edition of international football’s most prestigious competition.

Poland will play their first international game against fellow European nation Czech Republic on March 25, 2023, in an attempt to qualify for the 2024 UEFA Euro Competition

The 2024 edition of the Euros will be hosted by Germany.