Omalur, a state assembly constituency in Salem
district of Tamil Nadu, comprises a portion of Omalur taluk. It is part of Salem Lok Sabha constituency. In 2016, Vetrivel S of All India Anna
Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) defeated Ammasi S from Dravida Munnetra
Kazhagam (DMK) by 19,956 votes. In 2011 assembly election, C Krishnan of AIADMK
won the Omalur assembly seat.

Also Read | Tamil Nadu polls: Vedasandur constituency picked an AIADMK candidate in 2016

Here are a few details about the Omalur assembly

Name of the assembly constituency, district: Omalur, Salem

Lok Sabha constituency: Salem

Polling date: NA

2016 candidates: Vetrivel S (AIADMK), Ammasi S (DMK),

2021 candidates: NA

Sitting MLA, party: Vetrivel S, AIADMK

Winning margin in 2016: 19,956

Runner up name, party: Ammasi S, DMK

Number of voters in 2016: 227,472

Percentage of votes polled in 2016: 85.55 %

Number of women voters in 2016: 106,880

Number of polling booths in 2016: 841