The men’s
T20 World Cup is all set to commence on October 17 in Oman and the United Arab
. The International Cricket Council (ICC) has revealed the prize money
for every stage of the game.

Also Read – Virat Kohli identifies a new opener for T20 World Cup. Find out who

Both the
finalists will earn a large amount of money after the final which will take
place on November 14. The winners of the tournament will go home with a bag
full of $1.6 million and the runners-up will be sent home with $800,000.

No team will go home without earning some money and all 16 competitors
will earn some amount from the total allocated prize money for the whole
tournament, which stands at USD 5.6 million.

Also Read – T20 World Cup: Shoaib Malik replaces Sohaib Maqsood in Pakistan squad

In a press release ICC stated, “The ICC will also continue to award
a bonus amount for every win during the Super 12 stage of the tournament, as
was the case during the 2016 edition of the tournament. The victors during all
the 30 matches during the Super 12 stage will take home an amount of $40,000 —
amounting to a total pot of $1,200,000. “

Cricket’s world governing body added, “The same set-up is in
place to reward teams during their Round 1 victories, where again, they will be
rewarded $40,000 during the 12 matches during the stage, totalling $480,000.
The four teams which get knocked out during round one will get $40,000 each
from an overall prize pool of $160,000. “

Also Read – IPL 2021: Rohit Sharma’s message for his Mumbai Indians ‘family’

The eight confirmed participants of the Super 12 stage of the
competition are Afghanistan, Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan,
South Africa and West Indies.

While the teams competing for the remaining four spots are
Bangladesh, Ireland, Namibia, Netherlands, Oman, Papua New Guinea, Scotland and
Sri Lanka.

Meanwhile, ICC has also announced that two drinks break for a duration
of 2 minutes and 30 seconds will take place at the midpoint of each innings in
a match.