After US President Joe Biden signed the Juneteenth National Independence Day Act into law, the country added a tally to its federal holiday list, which consisted of only 10 days so far. Juneteenth, which is officially celebrated on June 19 every year is America’s 11th federal holiday.

On these days, all non-essential federal workers are given a day off as most government offices remain shut, including the post offices in the country. 

Also Read: Who are the 14 lawmakers who voted against Juneteenth bill in US House?

While states and private companies are under no obligation to follow the steps, most businesses and local government offices also choose to not keep a working day on the federal holidays.

Name of holiday Observation date
New Year’s Day January 1st
Martin Luther King Jr’s birthday January 20th
George Washington’s birthday February 17th
Memorial Day May 25th
Juneteenth Day June 19th
Independence Day July 4th
Labor Day September 7th
Columbus Day October 12th
Veterans Day November 11th
Thanksgiving Day November 25th*
Christmas Day December 25th

*Thanksgiving Day is not celebrated on a fixed day and is thus mentioned according to the 2021 calendar of the US government.

Also Read: Some unknown facts about Juneteenth

However, if a federal holiday clashes with the weekend, the holiday is transferred to the nearest Friday or Monday. Due to this, the Juneteenth holiday will be given to non-essential federal officials on June 18th, Friday while the momentous day will be celebrated on June 19th, Saturday.