The Republicans who are against Rep. Jim Jordan’s candidacy for speaker of the House voiced their opinions on the House floor during the first roll call vote to choose a new speaker. Twenty members voted against Jordan, meaning he could not win a majority in the first round.

Also read | Who is Jim Jordan? Net worth, age, wrestling, sexual abuse, religion, political views, career and more

In the end, Jordan received 200 GOP votes and Democratic Leader Hakeem Jeffries of New York received 212 Democratic votes. Three Republicans voted for former New York Representative Lee Zeldin, while six Republicans endorsed House Majority Leader Steve Scalise and former House Speaker Kevin McCarthy. Furthermore, one vote was cast for each of the Reps. Mike Garcia of California, Tom Emmer of Minnesota, Tom Cole of Oklahoma, and Tom Massie of Kentucky.

Also read | Who is Polly Jordan, Jim Jordan’s wife?

During the initial voting round for the position of Speaker of the House, Rep. Jim Jordan faced opposition from a number of Republicans. These Republicans are included along with the candidates they supported:

  • Rep. Tony Gonzales of Texas voted for Scalise.
  • Rep. Kay Granger of Texas voted for Scalise.
  • Rep. John James of Michigan voted for Cole.
  • Rep. Mike Kelly of Pennsylvania voted for Scalise.
  • Rep. Jennifer Kiggans of Virginia voted for McCarthy.
  • Rep. Nick LaLota of New York voted for Zeldin.
  • Rep. Doug LaMalfa of California voted for McCarthy.
  • Rep. Michael Lawler of New York voted for McCarthy.
  • Rep. Don Bacon of Nebraska voted for McCarthy.
  • Rep. Ken Buck of Colorado voted for Emmer.
  • Rep. Lori Chavez-DeRemer of Oregon voted for McCarthy.
  • Rep. Anthony D’Esposito of New York voted for Zeldin.
  • Rep. Mario Díaz-Balart of Florida voted for Scalise.
  • Rep. Jake Ellzey of Texas voted for Garcia.
  • Rep. Andrew Garbarino of New York voted for Zeldin.
  • Rep. Carlos Giménez of Florida voted for McCarthy.
  • Rep. John Rutherford of Florida voted for Scalise.
  • Rep. Michael Simpson of Idaho voted for Scalise.
  • Rep. Victoria Spartz of Indiana voted for Massie.
  • Rep. Steve Womack of Arkansas voted for Scalise.