Carolyn R. Bertozzi won the 2022 Nobel Prize in Chemistry on Wednesday. The award was shared by two other scientists–  Morten Meldal and K. Barry Sharpless. The trio was awarded the Nobel Prize “for the development of click chemistry and bioorthogonal chemistry.”

Bertozzi has taken click chemistry to a new dimension and started utilising it in living organisms, according to the Nobel Prize Committee. Her bioorthogonal reactions take place without disrupting the normal chemistry of the cell, the committee added.

Also Read: Nobel Prize: 3 lesser-known facts about the Physics award

Who is Carolyn R. Bertozzi?

Carolyn R. Bertozzi is associated with Standford University, a private institution in California. She completed her graduation in Chemistry from Harvard University in 1988. She then moved on to pursue her Ph.D. from the University of California, Berkley in 1993. She pursued her post-doc from UC San Francisco in Immunology.

Bertozzi serves as the Baker Family Director of Stanford ChEM-H department, which is commonly known as Chemistry, Engineering & Medicine for Human Health. She joined Stanford University in June 2015 and was among the first faculty to join the interdisciplinary institution.

Named a MacArthur Fellow in 1999, Dr. Bertozzi has received many awards for her dedication to chemistry, and to training a new generation of scientists fluent in both chemistry and biology.

Also Read: Anton Zeilinger on winning Nobel Prize in Physics: ‘Still kind of shocked’

Carolyn R. Bertozzi has been presented with more than 40 awards in her decades-long career in Chemistry. These awards include- Arthur C. Cope Award, Ernst Schering Prize, MacArthur Foundation “Genius” Award, Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award, and Donald Sterling Noyce Prize for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching among others.

She is also part of multiple boards and advisory committees. These include the National Academy of Inventors, German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina, American Academy of Arts and Sciences and Broad Institute’s Board of Scientific Counslors.