The Assembly constituency is
currently held by All India Anna Dravida
Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) MLA Chakrapani M who defeated Mydili R of Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) in 2016. The seat, one of Tamil
Nadu’s 234 assembly constituencies, falls under the Viluppuram Lok Sabha constituency.

Also read: Tamil Nadu polls: Namakkal constituency elected an AIADMK candidate in 2016

The Viluppuram
Lok Sabha constituency is currently held by M
Anandam of
AIADMK, who defeated S Vadivel
Ravanan of
Paattali Makkal Katchi.

Also read: Tamil Nadu polls: Senthamangalam constituency elected an AIADMK candidate in 2016

The Vanur Assembly constituency is reserved for
the Scheduled Caste. The seat is an AIADMK stronghold and has been held by the
party since 2001.

Here are a few details about
the Vanur
Assembly seat

Name of the assembly
constituency, district:
Vanur, Viluppuram district

Lok Sabha constituency: Viluppuram

Polling date: April 6

2016 candidates: Chakrapani M (AIADMK), Mydili R (DMK)

2021 candidates: NA

Sitting MLA, party: Chakrapani M (AIADMK)

Winning margin in 2016: 10,223 votes (5.86%)

Runner up name, party: Mydili R (DMK)

Number of voters in 2016: 174,454

Percentage of votes polled
in 2016: 

Number of women voters in

Number of polling booths in