Eight years ago
in IPL at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium, a towering Chris Gayle registered the fastest
hundred in T20 cricket and the highest score in a match against now-defunct
Pune Warriors India as Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) posted their highest
score – 263 for 5 in 20 overs. Gayle gave a nightmare to Ishwar Pandey, who was
then the highest wicket-taker of the season. Pandey got smashed for 21 runs in his
first over. Mitchell Marsh conceded 28 runs off his first over. PWI captain
Aaron Finch was blasted for 29 in a solitary over.

Also Read: IPL 2022: SRH bowlers run riot as RCB bowled out for their 2nd lowest score

Gayle smashed
the fastest century in the format, taking 30 balls to reach the three-figure
mark. En route to his highest individual T20 score (175 not out), Gayle struck
the most sixes by a batter in a T20 innings (17); helped Royal Challengers
Bangalore hit the most sixes for a team in a T20 innings (21) and reach the
highest total in T20 cricket (263). Tillakaratne Dilshan was the second-highest
scorer at 33.

RCB won the
match by 130 runs, one of the biggest victories in IPL. Pune Warriors could
score only 133 for 9 in 20 overs.

Also Read: IPL 2022: Andre Russell achieves massive record despite Kolkata Knight Riders’ loss vs Gujarat Titans

On Saturday,
exactly eight years later, on April 23, RCB suffered humiliation in the hands of SunRisers Hyderabad at Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai. Gayle is now
a retired cricketer and enjoying his time back home in Jamaica.

Faf du
-led RCB were bowled out for 68, their second-lowest total in IPL.
In-form SunRisers Hyderabad made a mockery of the Bangalore based franchise’s
star-studded batting line-up. Marco Jansen, an emerging pace bowler from South
Africa, picked up three wickets in the second over to leave RCB in tatter.
Experienced Indian seamer T Natarajan also picked up three wickets.

Also Read: IPL 2022: GT beat KKR by 8 runs; Russell’s remarkable performance goes in vain

Suchith scalped a brace while Umran Malik and Bhuvneshwar Kumar got a wicket
each. Suyash Prabhudessai top-scored for them at 15. The second-highest scorer
was Glenn Maxwell and extras. Maxwell scored 12 and RCB collected as many runs
from extras.

Also Read: IPL 2022 final in Ahmedabad, playoffs in Kolkata to be played with capacity crowd: Report

The flamboyant
side was bowled over in 16.1 overs with Virat Kohli, Anuj Rawat and Dinesh
getting dismissed for a duck. RCB, who were coming to play SRH in the
backdrop of two consecutive wins, suffered a nine wickets defeat.