Sankakiri is a state assembly constituency in Salem
district of Tamil Nadu and is a part of Namakkal Lok Sabha constituency. In
2016, the total percentage of voters in Sankari was recorded as 84.06%. Raja S of
All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) is the sitting MLA of
Sankakiri. He defeated Rajeswaran TK of Congress by 37,374 votes.

Also Read| Tamil Nadu polls: Harbour constituency picked DMK’s candidate in 2016

Here are a few details about the Sankari assembly

Name of the assembly constituency, district: Sankari, Salem

Lok Sabha constituency: Namakkal

Polling date: April 6

2016 candidates: Raja S (AIADMK), Rajeswaran TK (Congress),
Kannan P (PMK)

2021 candidates: NA

Sitting MLA, party: Raja S, AIADMK

Winning margin in 2016: 37,374

Runner up name, party: Rajeswaran TK, Congress

Number of voters in 2016: 215,895

Percentage of votes polled in 2016: 84.06%

Number of women voters in 2016: 103,696

Number of polling booths in 2016: 853