The Indian Navy has been sending ships across the world as part of the Azadi ka Amrit Mahotsav celebration to mark the country’s 75th Independence Day. The navy’s efforts were boosted on the early Sunday morning, August 14, when warship INS Satpura entered the San Diego harbour in California to mark Indian Independence Day.

The INS Satpura is a Shivalik-class stealth multi-role frigate, which was launched on June 4, 2004, and was commissioned by the Indian Navy on August 20, 2011.

Also Read: Salman Rushdie health update: Taken off ventilator after stabbing, can talk

The Indian Embassy tweeted photos of the warship entering the San Diego harbour on Sunday early morning and wrote, “Indian Warship INS Satpura entered San Diego harbour today to celebrate Indiaat75 @AmritMahotsav.”

The warship will be conducting a 75-lap run as a tribute to 75 Indian freedom fighters and in honour of their sacrifices for the nation at the San Diego US naval base on August 15. It will also be hoisting the Tricolour on Independence Day with local authorities and Indian diaspora present in North America.

The Indian stealth frigate was part of RIMPAC-22, a naval exercise in Hawaii earlier this year. According to ANI, the INS Satpura entered the California harbour on August 14 as part of the Indian Navy’s Independence Day commemoration voyages across six continents, three oceans and six time zones.

Also Read: Watch: Yamuna river swells below danger mark, floods houses in Delhi

The Rim of the Pacific exercise (RIMPAC) is widely regarded as one of the best multilateral naval exercises in the world. The INS Satpura and the P8I LRMRASW aircraft of the Indian Navy participated in the 2022 edition of the drill at Pearl Harbour in Hawaii.

The INS Satpura arrived at the US Navy’s Pearl Harbour base on June 27. It also honoured the fallen US sailors at the USS Arizona Memorial and museum ship USS Missouri.

The INS Satpura also conducted a yoga protocol on June 15 at the US Navy’s Guam Harbour base, which was attended by sailors from the US, Singapore and the Philippines.