KBC 14: The Australian spin legend Shane Warne captained which team to an IPL championship title?


Rajasthan Royals

Deccan Chargers 

Sunrisers Hyderabad

Kolkata Knight Riders

Answer: Rajasthan Royals

Australian cricket legend and the greatest leg-spinner of all time Shane Warne died of a heart attack in Thailand last month at the age of 52. 

“Shane was found unresponsive in his villa and despite the best efforts of medical staff, he could not be revived,” his management said in a statement. 

“The family requests privacy at this time and will provide further details in due course.”

Also Read: Shane Warne: 5 magnificent records held by Australian legend

Warne made his debut in 1992. Since then, he played 145 Tests for Australia, picking up 708 wickets with his leg-spin. In his 194 ODI appearances, Warne snared 293 scalps.

In 2013, the year he retired from the game completely, he was inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame. 

Also Read: Shane Warne lived more in his life than most would do in 20: Glenn McGrath

In the Indian Premier League, Warne played 55 matches for Rajasthan Royals between 2008 and 2011 and led the side to the IPL title in the inaugural edition in 2008. He was instrumental in grooming a host of young Indian cricketers who were part of the Royals’ squad during that period.

“Everyone associated with the Rajasthan Royals is still shocked and devastated. Our first thoughts are for his family, who he cherished so dearly. We will ensure that he is never forgotten, and that his millions of fans in India get an opportunity to pay their respects,” the Royals’ Lead Owner Manoj Badale said in a release following his death. 

“Shane (Warne) was the first Royal. Our first captain. Our first family member. And Our first champion. He provided so many memories on and off the pitch. He shaped the values of the RR franchise. He co-created the Royals. And he helped transform the story of the Indian Premier League (IPL).”