DMK chief MK Stalin will take oath as chief minister of Tamil Nadu on Friday along with 33 others, reports PTI. The Chief Minister-designate released the list which was approved by Governor. Among those on the list are S Duraimurugan, KN Nehru, I Periasamyand CV Ganesan

Earlier, Governor Banwarilal Purohit appointed DMK president M K Stalin as Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu after he submitted a letter on his election as legislature party leader, the Raj Bhavan said on Wednesday.

Also Read| Vanathi Srinivasan: BJP leader who defeated actor-politician Kamal Haasan

Stalin called on Purohit at the Raj Bhavan and “submitted a letter intimating of his election as the leader of the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam Legislature party.” Governor Purohit appointed him as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu and invited him to form the ministry and to have the swearing-in-ceremony on May 7 at 9 am at Raj Bhavan, an official release said.

In the recently-held assembly elections, the DMK-led front won 159 of the 234 assembly seats.