The BJP has formed a 14-member campaign management committee on Friday for the presidential election, with Water Resources Minister Gajendra Singh Shekhawat as the convener.

The BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) hasn’t yet announced a candidate, though, nor have the Opposition parties.

Also read: Who can become the President of India, and how

According to the Enforcement Directorate, the nominations have to be filed by June 29. The voting is scheduled for July 18 and counting, if needed, will be done on July 21. President Ramnath Kovind’s term will come to an end on July 24. Elected MPs and MLAs are the voters.

The BJP committee, which has ministers and party officials, will manage a nationwide campaign for the NDA candidate to gather support.

Also read: With Sharad Pawar out, who will be the Opposition candidate for Presidential polls?

Others on the panel are union ministers G Kishan Reddy, Ashwini Vaishnaw, Sarbananda Sonowal, Arjun Meghwal and Bharati Pawar.

BJP general secretaries Vinod Tawde and CT Ravi are co-conveners, said a party communique. Tarun Chugh, DK Aruna, Rituraj Sinha, V Srinavasan, Sambit Patra and Rajdeep Roy are members, too.

Also read: Opposition assemble: Leaders chuck differences for the ‘sake of our nation’

Meanwhile, the NDA does not have the numbers for a sure-shot victory.

With that in mind, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee has tried to gather opposition parties for a consensus candidate.

However, the BJP has reached out to the opposition too.

Also read: President Kovind’s term ends on July 24, ECI announces poll dates. Check details

The polls are based on an electoral college comprising votes of MLAs and MPs. Vote value of each MLA depends on the population of the state and the number of assembly seats.

The NDA is 13,000 votes short.

Also read: Who is UAE President Sheikh Mohamed bin Zayed Al Nahyan?

In 2017, the BJP-led NDA did not have the required numbers, but it got support from Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS), YSR Congress and Biju Janata Dal, for Kovind against Congress-led opposition’s candidate Meira Kumar.