President’s Rule has been imposed in Puducherry, the Union Home Ministry notified on Thursday, ANI reported. This came just days after the Congress-led government in the union territory resigned after former Chief Minister V Narayanasamy could not prove his government’s majority in the Assembly. 

According to the notification signed by President Ram Nath Kovind, the decision was taken after the President received a report from the administrator of the Union Territory of Puducherry on February 22.

Also read: PM Modi uses viral translation video to target Puducherry ex-CM Narayanasamy, Congress

It said after considering the report and other information received by him, the President was satisfied that a situation had arisen in which the administration of the Union Territory of Puducherry could not carry on in accordance with the provisions of the Government of Union Territories Act, 1963 (20 of 1963), reported PTI.

“Now, therefore, in exercise of the powers conferred by section 51 of the Act and of all other powers enabling me in that behalf, I (a) suspend, until the constitution of the 15th Legislative Assembly of Puducherry, in relation to the said Union Territory of Puducherry…,” the notification said.

The President also suspended the operation of various provisions of the Government of Union Territories Act, 1963 (20 of 1963), thus imposing central rule in Puducherry.

The Legislative Assembly of the UT was also suspended. 

Resignations by five Congress MLAs, two DMK MLAs and disqualification of one Congress MLA had left the Congress-led government to a majority in the 33 member Assembly.

Announcing the decisions of the Union Cabinet on Wednesday, Union Minister Prakash Javadekar said, “In Puducherry, the Chief Minister has resigned, and nobody has claimed to form the government and therefore, the Lieutenant Governor has recommended suspending the 14th assembly. Now, our approval will be sent to the President. After his approval, the assembly will stand dissolved.”