Purqazi assembly constituency in Uttar Pradesh’s Muzzafarnagar district was won in 2017 by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). The BJP’s Pramod Utwal won Purqazi by a margin of 11253 votes over his nearest rival, Deepak Kumar of the Congress (INC).

Purqazi is a new assembly constituency that came into being after delimitation in 2008. Elections to Purqazi were first held in 2012 and Anil Kumar of the Bahujan Samaj Party had won. In 2017, he came third.

Also read: Charthawal (UP) assembly election 2022: Date, result, candidates’ list and latest news

Purqazi is a seat reserved for Schedule Caste or SC candidates. It is one of five assembly segments in the Bijnor Lok Sabha constituency. Bijnor has two SC reserved assembly segments, the other one being Hastinapur. In keeping with its commanding performance in the region, the BJP had won all five assembly segments in the Bijnor parliamentary constituency in 2017. In 2012, the BSP had won three and the BJP and the Samajwadi Party one each.

The BJP won the 2017 UP election by a big majority, bagging 312 of the state’s 403 assembly seats. It left less than 100 seats for rival parties to divide among themselves. The Samajwadi Party, after an ill-conceived alliance with the Congress backfired, came second with 47 seats, down from 224 in 2012 when it formed the government in the state.

Also read: Budhana (UP) assembly election: Date, result, candidates’ list and latest news

The BSP, led by former UP chief minister Mayawati, had won 19 seats and the Congress seven, 2017

Purqazi will vote in the first phase of the UP elections on February 10, 2022. Polling in the UP assembly elections will be held over seven phases ending March 3. All votes will be counted on March 10.

Also read: Shamli (UP) assembly election: Date, result, candidates’ list and latest news

Quick facts about the Purqazi Assembly seat

Name of the assembly constituency, district: Purqazi, Muzaffarnagar district

Polling date: February 10, 2022

Phase: 1

Sitting MLA, party: Pramod Utwal, BJP

Winning candidate, party in 2017: Pramod Utwal, BJP

Runner up name, party in 2017: Deepak Kumar, INC

Winning margin in 2017: 11253

Top 3 candidates 2017 : Pramod Utwal (BJP), Deepak Kumar (INC), Anil Kumar (BSP)

Top 3 candidates 2012: Anil Kumar (BSP), Deepak Kumar(INC), Uma Kiran (SP)

Lok Sabha constituency: Bijnor