Salem North, one of the 234 assembly constituencies in Tamil Nadu, was created in 2008. Earlier, it was part of previous constituencies Salem I and Salem II, which were redrawn as Salem North, Salem South and Salem West. It is part of Salem Lok Sabha constituency and had VVPAT facility with EVMs in 2016 Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly election. Rajendran R of DMK is the sitting MLA of Salem North.

Also Read| Tamil Nadu polls: Harbour constituency picked DMK’s candidate in 2016

Here are a few details about the Salem North
assembly seat

Name of the assembly constituency, district: Salem (North),

Lok Sabha constituency: Salem

Polling date: April 6

2016 candidates: Rajendran R (DMK), Saravanan KRS (AIADMK),

2021 candidates: NA

Sitting MLA, party: Rajendran R, DMK

Winning margin in 2016: 9,873

Runner up name, party: Saravanan KRS, AIADMK

Number of voters in 2016: 191,841

Percentage of votes polled in 2016: 72.12 %

Number of women voters in 2016: 93,739

Number of polling booths in 2016: 933