Gangavalli, an assembly constituency in Tamil Nadu and
was formed after constituency delimitations in 2007. It falls under Salem
district and includes Gangavalli taluk and a portion of Attur taluk. It is a
part of the Kallakurichi Lok Sabha constituency and the assembly seat is
reserved for candidates from the Scheduled Castes.

Also Read| Tamil Nadu polls: Tindivanam seat picked DMK’s candidate in 2016

Maruthamuthu A of All India Anna Dravida Munnetra
Kazhagam (AIADMK) won the seat by defeating Rekha Priyadharshini J from Dravida
Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) by only 2,262 votes.

Here are a few details about the Gangavalli
assembly seat

Name of the assembly constituency, district: Gangavalli,

Lok Sabha constituency: Kallakurichi

Polling date: April 6

2016 candidates: Maruthamuthu A (AIADMK), Rekha
Priyadharshini J (DMK), Shanmugavel Murty A (PMK)

2021 candidates: NA

Sitting MLA, party: Maruthamuthu A, AIADMK

Winning margin in 2016: 2,262

Runner up name, party: Rekha Priyadharshini J, DMK

Number of voters in 2016: 177,128

Percentage of votes polled in 2016: 80.93%

Number of women voters in 2016: 89,672

Number of polling booths in 2016: 858