The Assembly constituency is
currently held by All India Anna Dravida
Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) MLA Chakrapani M who defeated Ameer Abbas SM of Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) in 2016. The seat, one of Tamil
Nadu’s 234 assembly constituencies, falls under the Viluppuram Lok Sabha constituency.

Also read: Tamil Nadu polls: Arani constituency picked AIADMK’s candidate in 2016

The Viluppuram
Lok Sabha constituency is currently held by M
Anandam of
AIADMK, who defeated S Vadivel
Ravanan of
Paattali Makkal Katchi.

Also read: Tamil Nadu polls: Krishnarayapuram (SC) seat picked AIADMK’s candidate in 2016

The Villupuram
Assembly constituency is an
unreserved seat. The seat has been held by the AIADMK since 2011.

Here are a few details about
the Villupuram
Assembly seat

Name of the assembly
constituency, district:
Villupuram, Viluppuram district

Lok Sabha constituency: Viluppuram

Polling date: April 6

2016 candidates: Chakrapani M (AIADMK), Ameer Abbas SM (IUML)

2021 candidates: NA

Sitting MLA, party: Chakrapani M (AIADMK)

Winning margin in 2016: 22,291 votes (11.80%)

Runner up name, party: Ameer Abbas SM (IUML)

Number of voters in 2016: 189,171

Percentage of votes polled
in 2016:

Number of women voters in

Number of polling booths in