India had a record-breaking outing at the 2020 Tokyo Paralympics. On Tuesday, August 31, India reached an unparalleled double-mark in their medal tally. Riding on this, India ended the Tokyo Paralympics with a haul of 19 medals – 5 gold, 8 silver, 6 bronze. India’s previous best medal (4) tally was during the Rio 2016 Paralympics and New York 1984.

This is how India got its medals:

Bhavina Patel (Silver medal, table tennis class 4)

Bhavina was drawn in Group A. After losing her opening round fixture, she bounced back to beat Britain’s Megan Shackleton in the second round. After qualifying for the round of 16, she beat Brazil’s Joyce de Oliveira. She followed it up with victories over reigning champion Borislava Rankovic Peric of Serbia and China’s Zhang Miao to enter the final.

In the gold medal match, the Indian went down to Zhou Ying and took home the silver medal.

Nishad Kumar (Silver medal, men’s high jump T47)

Apart from winning the silver medal, India’s Nishad Kumar 2.06m jump helped him equal his own personal best and also an Asian record, too.

Avani Lekhara (Gold medal, women’s 10m air rifle shooting standing SH1)

Avani Lekhara, appearing in her debut Paralympics, shot a new Paralympic record 249.6 to win the gold medal. She also equalled the world record score in the category.

Devendra Jhajharia (Silver medal, men’s javelin throw F46)

India’s most decorated Paralympian, Devendra Jhajharia won silver medal in the men’s javelin throw F46 class. This silver added to his two Paralympic gold medals at Athens 2004 and Rio 2016 Games.

It took Devendra Jhajharia level with Joginder Singh Bedi (two bronze, a silver)

Sundar Singh Gurjar (Bronze medal, men’s javelin throw F46)

Sundar Singh Gurjar finished behind Devendra Jhajharia to bring home a bronze medal in the same category.

Yogesh Kathuniya (Silver medal, men’s discus throw F56)

Yogesh Kathuniya brought home the silver medal with a best throw of 44.58m in the men’s discus throw F56 class.

Sumit Antil (Gold medal, men’s javelin throw F64)

En route to the elusive gold medal, Sumit Antil broke his own world record thrice in the men’s javelin throw F64 category. The new world record was finally recorded at 68.55m.

Singhraj Adhana (Bronze medal in men’s 10m air pistol shooting SH1)

Singhraj Adhana won India’s second shooting medal at the Paralympics. The 39-year-old shot 216.8 in the final to finish behind defending champion, China’s Chao Yang.

Mariyappan Thangavelu (Silver medal, men’s high jump T42)

Mariyappan Thangavelu took home the silver medal in the men’s high jump T42 class. After clearing the initial marks, he attempted thrice to clear the 1.83m and 1.86m mark. He went for gold but could not get the desired result.

Sharad Kumar (Bronze Medal, men’s high jump T42)

He joined compatriot Thangavelu on the podium as he won bronze in the men’s high jump T42.

Praveen Kumar (Silver medal, men’s high jump T64)

In Praveen Kumar’s silver, India won its eighth athletics medal and fourth high jump medal. He successfully cleared 2.07m in the final – a new personal best and new Asian record.

Avani Lekhara (Bronze medal, women’s 50m rifle 3 positions shooting SH1)

Avani Lekhara made history by becoming the first Indian woman to win two Paralympic medals in the same Games. After winning gold, she won bronze in the women’s 50m rifle 3 positions SH1 category. She shot 445.9 in the final.

Harvinder Singh (Bronze Medal, men’s individual recurve)

Harvinder Singh beat Kim Min Su of South Korea in a thrilling encounter to win India its first-ever archery medal at the Paralympics.

Manish Narwal (Gold medal, men’s 50m pistol SH1)

Indian shooter Manish Narwal shot a Paralympic record-setting 218.2 to get his hand on the elusive gold medal. He qualified for the final event as the seventh-best shooter.

Singhraj Adhana (Silver medal, men’s 50m pistol SH1)

With a score of 216.7 in the final, Singhraj Adhana took home the silver medal. He for the final by finishing fourth in the qualification. With this silver, he got two shooting medals, having won a bronze earlier.

Pramod Bhagat (Gold medal, men’s singles badminton SL3)

As badminton made its Paralympics debut, India’s Pramod Bhagat became the first-ever champion in the men’s singles SL3 category. He beat Great Britain’s Daniel Bethell 21-14, 21-17.

Manoj Sarkar (Bronze medal, men’s singles badminton SL3)

In the bronze medal match, Manoj Sarkar beat Japan’s Daisuke Fujihara 22-20, 21-13 to clinch his medal.

Suhas Yathiraj (Silver medal, men’s singles badminton SL4)

Suhas Yathiraj, a district magistrate from Noida scripted history with his Paralympic silver medal. Owing to this victory, he became the first IAS officer to win a Paralympic medal.

Krishna Nagar (Gold medal, men’s single badminton SH6)

In the final, Krishna Nagar beat Hong Kong’s Kai Man Chu 21-17, 16-21, 21-17. In him, India got its fifth gold at the Games.