BJP nearly clean sweeped the UP bypolls winning six out of seven seats in an election that were held on November 3. 

Samajwadi Party (SP) won the one remaining seat. 

The counting of votes for the polls began on Tuesday at 8 am.

SP’s Lucky Yadav, the sole non-BJP winner, defeated his nearest rival, an independent candidate by a margin of 4868 votes at Malhani seat. 

The winners from BJP were: Mahesh Prasad,Usha Sirohi, Dr Satyaprakash Mani Tripathi urf Guddu Babu, Upendra Nath Paswan, Sangeeta Chauhan, and Prempal Dhangar. 

An average of 53% of the total registered voters exercised their franchise last week to elect their leaders from Naugaon Sadat, Tundla, Bangarmau, Bulandshahr, Deoria, Ghatampur and Malhani constituencies.

Apart from Malhani, which was with the SP, the other six seats were held by BJP.

Also read: Madhya Pradesh bypolls: Counting begins for 28 Assembly seats

Naugaon Sadat and Ghatampur seats fell vacant after the death of state ministers Chetan Chauhan and Kamal Rani Varun respectively. Both the ministers died of COVID-19.

The Tundla seat fell vacant after MLA, S P Singh Baghel found his place in the Lok Sabha, while the Bangarmau seat in Unnao fell vacant after the conviction of BJP MLA Kuldeep Singh Sengar in a rape case. Sengar was soon discarded by the BJP.

Also read: Tejashwi Yadav’s Mahagathbandhan ahead in early counting trends in Bihar

The by-polls to the Bulandshahr, Deoria and Malhani seats were necessitated due to the deaths of sitting MLAs Virendra Singh Sirohi, Janmejay Singh and Parasnath Yadav (SP), respectively.

A total of 88 candidates are contesting for the seven seats. Bulandshahr has the highest number of 18 candidates while Ghatampur has the lowest of six. 16 candidates are in the race for Malhani, 14 each in Naugaon Sadat and Deoria, 10 each in Bangarmau and Tundla.