The Indian Union Muslim League is an Indian political party based in the state of Kerala and is recognised as a State Party in Kerala by the Election Commission of India.

The first Council of the Indian segment of the Muslim League was held on March 10, 1948, in Chennai.

The ‘Indian Union Muslim League’ constitution was passed on September 1, 1951.

The party is a major member of the opposition United Democratic Front, the Indian National Congress-led pre-poll state-level alliance in Kerala.

Also Read | Where does Popular Front of India get its funding?

The party is a part of the United Progressive Alliance in national level. It first gained a ministry (Minister of State for External Affairs) in Indian Government in 2004.

The party currently has four members in Parliament – E. T. Mohammed Basheer, M. P. Abdussamad Samadani and K. Navas Kani in the Lok Sabha and P. V. Abdul Wahab in the Rajya Sabha – and fifteen members in Kerala State Legislative Assembly.

On September 20, a leader of Islamic outfit Popular Front of India (PFI) was arrested in connection with the killing of an RSS leader in Kerala’s Palakkad district in April this year. Palakkad district secretary of PFI, Aboobaker Siddik, was arrested for allegedly conspiring to kill RSS leader SK Srinivasan on April 16.

He was also allegedly part of a group of PFI activists who had prepared the list of leaders of various political organisations including the BJP, CPI(M) and Youth League — the youth wing of the Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) — to be targeted in their retaliatory attacks, a police officer told PTI, at the time.

Also Read | Popular Front of India on National Investigation Agency raids: ‘Move to silence dissenting voices’

The PFI came into the news again on September 22 after more than 100 people were detained in joint raids conducted by the National Investigation Agency and Enforcement Directorate. News agency ANI reported that OMA Salam, Mohammed Basheer, VP Nazarudheen and P. Koya were among those detained.