India defeated South Africa by 113 runs to win their first-ever Test at the SuperSport Park, Centurion and take a 1-0 lead in the three-match series on the fifth and final day on Thursday.  

The victory caused a storm on social media as the Indian cricket fraternity congratulated the team on its maiden Test win at Centurion.

Legendary cricketer Sachin Tendulkar hailed India’s bowling in his tweet, “Superb bowling by an attack that can pick 20 wickets in a Test match anywhere in the world.
Congratulations to #TeamIndia on a convincing victory!”

Jay Shah, Secretary of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) wrote, “Congratulations to #TeamIndia on a fabulous victory at Centurion despite a day being washed out due to rain. 2021 has been a phenomenal year with many famous away Test wins in Brisbane, Lord’s, and The Oval.”

Cricket commentator and analyst, Harsha Bhogle, complimented the bowlers, and Virat Kohli’s ‘nurturing pace’. 

“Further confirmation that this is as good a seam attack as any going. The bowlers have been magnificent but Kohli deserves credit too for nurturing pace. Under him, India has bowled to win both, at home and away,” he wrote.

Aakash Chopra, Indian cricket commentator and former cricketer tweeted, “Centurion Conquered. In 3.5 days. Let’s convert this start into the first ever Test series win in South Africa.”

For India, the win capped a successful year which started with a historic win at ‘Gabbanator’, Australia, along with at the Lord’s and at the Oval in England.   

Another former Indian professional cricketer and wicketkeeper-batsman, Parthiv Patel, congratulated the team for India’s new year gift, “”I don’t remember team chasing 250 plus against india so it was always question of rain saving South Africa. Congratulations Team India for the new year gift!#SAvsIND #CricketTwitter.”

Indian sports writer and journalist Ayaz Memon said ‘India’s consistently aggressive approach paid off.”

This was only the second time that India won four Test matches outside Asia in a calendar year, the last being in 2018 – when India won in Johannesburg, Nottingham, Adelaide and Melbourne.