KL Rahul is back to the Indian set-up after a two-month lay-off, during which he underwent a sports hernia surgery. The 30-year-old will lead the team as they lock horns with Zimbabwe in a three-match ODI series. 

The first game will be played at the Harare Sports Club, Harare on Thursday. 

Also read: Dhanashree drops Chahal from surname after Yuzi ‘s ‘new life’ post, fans speculate rift

The focus will be on Rahul and his form, especially with the T20 World Cup only months away. The skipper is likely to open along with his deputy Shikhar Dhawan. Ishan Kishan, Ruturaj Gaikwad and Sanju Samson are also key cogs of the team. 

Based on the series, India will tweat their squad for the Asia Cup, which begins this month. 

Also read: Watch: Pujara smashes career best List A score vs Surrey

On the Harare Sports Club batting belters where Zimbabwe chased down Bangladesh’s 300 plus and 290-odd targets in successive games in the recently-concluded series, India’s batting line-up with Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda and Sanju Samson will certainly prove to be more than a handful for hosts.

Also read: Ross Taylor ‘was slapped 3-4 times’ by Rajasthan Royals owner for getting out on duck during IPL

And unlike Bangladesh, a bowling attack comprising Mohammed Siraj, Prasidh Krishna, Deepak Chahar, Kuldeep Yadav along with all-rounders Shardul Thakur and Axar Patel has more potency in any conditions against this Zimbabwe line-up.

Chahar is making his comeback into a side after an injury layoff. Kuldeep Yadav is also getting back into mojo. 

Also read: First edition of women’s IPL scheduled for March 2023: Reports

Squads: India: KL Rahul (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan (vice-captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohd Siraj, Deepak Chahar, Shahbaz Ahmed.

Zimbabwe: Regis Chakabva (captain), Ryan Burl, Tanaka Chivanga, Bradley Evans , Luke Jongwe , Innocent Kaia, Takudzwanashe Kaitano , Clive Madande, Wessly Madhevere, Tadiwanashe Marumani, John Masara, Tony Munyonga , Richard Ngarava , Victor Nyauchi , Sikandar Raza , Milton Shumba , Donald Tiripano.

Match Starts: 12:45 PM IST.