Umran Malik has been handed in much-anticipated India debut in the first T20I vs Ireland at The Village, Dublin on Sunday. Suryakumar Yadav returns to the playing 11 as Avesh Khan retained his place. 

India skipper Hardik Pandya won the toss and elected to field. 

Announcing his decision, Pandya, who is leading India for the first time, said that it is his dream come true. 

Also read: Is it high time for Sarfaraz Khan’s Test debut?

“We are going to bowl. We would have loved to bat, but looking at the weather we felt bowling would be better. Nice to be in Ireland. Have fans here and feels like playing at home. Absolute honour to lead India. Any cricket who starts playing dreams of leading the country and I am very lucky to be leading my country. My role is simple. Just back them (the players) and ask them to play with freedom and express themselves. Umran makes his debut,” the Indian skipper said at the toss. 

Meanwhile, his Irish counterpart Andrew Balbirnie admitted that he would have bowled first too. Conor Olphert makes his debut for Ireland. 

Also read: Harmanpreet Kaur overtakes Mithali Raj to become India women’s leading T20I runscorer

“Probably would have bowled because of the weather around. Guys are excited for this series. Really important to play against one of the best teams in the world. Conor Olphert is going to make his debut today,” Balbirnie said after losing the toss. 

Also Read: Watch: Kohli defends Kamlesh Nagarkoti, confronts arguing fan in Leicester

India (Playing XI): Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Deepak Hooda, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya(c), Dinesh Karthik(w), Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Yuzvendra Chahal, Umran Malik

Ireland (Playing XI): Paul Stirling, Andrew Balbirnie(c), Gareth Delany, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker(w), George Dockrell, Mark Adair, Andy McBrine, Craig Young, Joshua Little, Conor Olphert