South Africa on Wednesday announced their squad for the five-match series against India, which begins on June 9. Temba Bavuma will captain the team with Tristan Stubbs ready to make his debut. 

Also read: IPL 2022: Being dropped isn’t always bad: Mumbai Indians’ Ishan Kishan on Tim David’s purple patch

Dewald Brevis, dubbed as Baby AB after the legendary AB de Villiers, did not get a call up. The teenager was the highest run-scorer at the U-19 World Cup 2022 and was selected by the Mumbai Indians for Rs 3 crore in the IPL 2022 mega auction. The 19-year-old scored 124 runs in six games at a strike rate of 155.00. 

On the other hand, Brevis’ MI teammate Tristan Stubbs got his first call-up to the national squad. The 21-year-old has played 18 T20 games in domestic cricket and averages 36.14 with a strike rate of 156. He was called up to the Mumbai squad in the IPL as an injury replacement.

Also read: IPL 2022: Mumbai Indians’ Tim David explains his six-hitting formula

“This is the Proteas like we have not seen them in a long time. The injection of the IPL players means that we will have a team that’s ready to fire on all cylinders immediately and has vast experience of the conditions that we will be playing in,” CSA Convenor of Selectors, Victor Mpitsang said. 

Anrich Nortje, who has been out of the team since December due to an injury, returned to the IPL with Delhi Capitals. He has been recalled to the Protea squad. The  16-man squad also includes a return to the T20 fold for allrounder Wayne Parnell. He was last involved in a T20 series for South Africa in 2017.

Also read: IPL 2022: Struggling for runs Ishan Kishan opens up about poor form

Batters Reeza Hendricks and Heinrich Klaasen earned recalls.

Temba Bavuma (captain, Imperial Lions), Quinton de Kock (Momentum Multiply Titans), Reeza Hendricks (Imperial Lions), Heinrich Klaasen (Momentum Multiply Titans), Keshav Maharaj (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Aiden Markram (Momentum Multiply Titans), David Miller (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Lungi Ngidi (Momentum Multiply Titans), Anrich Nortje (Gbets Warriors), Wayne Parnell (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Dwaine Pretorius (North West Dragons), Kagiso Rabada (Imperial Lions), Tabraiz Shamsi (Momentum Multiply Titans), Tristan Stubbs (Gbets Warriors), Rassie van der Dussen (Imperial Lions), Marco Jansen (Gbets Warriors).