The Caribbean and the United States of America (USA) will host the 2024 T20 World Cup in the month of June, according to reports. Initial reports suggested that American venues might not be equipped to handle an event of this size. However, after a recent examination, the ICC has given the go-ahead.

Also Read: Travis Scott releases DELRESTO featuring Beyoncé from his latest album UTOPIA | Fans react

The event is expected to take place over a 26-day period at a total of 10 venues in the USA and the West Indies. The event will take place between June 4 and 30 and will feature 20 teams.

According to reports, an ICC delegation visited five of the USA’s shortlisted locations this week. These locations will be hosting an international global cricket event for the first time. These include Morrisville, Dallas, and New York for tournament matches and warm-ups, as well as Lauderhill in Florida, which has already hosted international matches and will host West Indies vs. India in the next two weeks.

Also Read: Top 10 swimmers to win the most individual world titles | Katie Ledecky breaks Michael Phelps’ record with 16th gold medal

The first American Major League Cricket tournament is currently taking place in Morrisville and Dallas. Grand Prairie Stadium in Dallas, Church Street Park in Morrisville, and Van Cortlandt Park in the Bronx in New York City have yet to receive the designation of international venue, which is required by ICC regulations. In the next months, the ICC, along with Cricket West Indies (CWI) and USA Cricket (USAC), will make a final decision regarding the venues.

Also Read: Is Travis Scott dating SZA? Fans speculate over duo’s collab in Manchester

Starting in 2024, the T20 World Cup’s current format, which has been in place since the 2014 edition, will change.

There will be four groups of five teams each, with a total of 20 teams, including the recently qualified Papua New Guinea, Scotland, and Ireland. It should be remembered that because they are the hosts, the USA and the West Indies have already qualified. Due to their T20I rankings, major ranked nations have also guaranteed their berth.

In each group, the top two teams advance to the Super 8, which consists of two groups of four teams each. The top two finishers in each of those two groups advance to the elimination round (semi-finals), and ultimately, the final match for the title.