India, having won the first game by three runs on Friday, will look to clinch another win in the Caribbean as they take on West Indies in the second ODI at the Queen’s Park Oval in Port of Spain, Trinidad, on Sunday. 

From stand-in skipper Shikhar Dhawan and Shubman Gill’s aggressive opening partnership to Mohammad Siraj’s excellent bowling attack, the side ticked all the boxes to go 1-0 up in the three-match series on Friday. 

Also Read: Cricket returns to Commonwealth Games: Cricketers recall experiences from 1998 edition

Gill, who returned to the ODI fold on Friday after more than 19 months, seized the opportunity with a career-best 64, smashing six boundaries and a couple of sixes.

Dhawan played the perfect second fiddle to Gill as the opening stand was worth 119 from 106 balls. Dhawan, however, narrowly missed out on his 18th century. Shreyas Iyer too found some form with a half-century.

However, a perfect top-three act was followed by a middle-order collapse followed. India eventually settled for 308 for seven.

Also Read: Ajit Agarkar slams BCCI decision to drop Virat Kohli in West Indies tour

Dhawan pulled off a surprise by making part-time spinner Deepak Hooda bowl ahead of specialist Yuzvendra Chahal inside the first 20 overs. Chahar returned wicket-less but he was the most economical (4.40) bowler of the day for the Indians. Siraj stood out as he dismissed Nicholas Pooraj in the middle overs and returned at the death with his perfect yorkers.

On Sunday, the likes of Suryakumar Yadav, Samson, Deepak Hooda and Axar Patel would like to deliver.

Teams (from): West Indies: Nicholas Pooran (captain), Shai Hope (vice-captain), Shamarh Brooks, Keacy Carty, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Motie, Keemo Paul, Rovman Powell and Jayden Seales.

India: Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohd Siraj, Arshdeep Singh.